Frequently Asked Questions

What does “explosion proof” really mean?

Flameproof protection, or “explosion proof” as it is known in North America, is the most widely used method of protection for electrical devices in hazardous areas. The requirement is that the device’s enclosure must be of significant strength and integrity to withstand an internal explosion of the hazard for which it is designed, without the explosion setting fire to the surrounding atmosphere.

What is purged protection?

Purging is a technique of applying a protective gas (possibly air) into an enclosure to prevent the formation of an explosive atmosphere inside the enclosure. This is accomplished by maintaining an overpressure against the surrounding atmosphere. Though this is a good method, typically used for control panels, it is limited in the sense that if there were a disaster or the pressurization system failed, the power from this device must be instantly removed rendering the device inoperative.

How can I integrate SIDUS products into my system?

SIDUS offers a vast array of remote control options for our equipment. Standard configurations include analog voltages, RS-232, RS-422, or RS-485 via an easy to use Sidus protocol. Custom analog configurations and other common serial protocols such as Pelco-D are available upon request. Additionally, SIDUS also offers custom equipment controllers and graphical user interface software.

What are Ingress Protection (IP) ratings?

There are two systems commonly used for defining the amount of protection an enclosure affords against the intrusion (or ingress) of dust and liquids. The most widely used system is the IP code. This is defined fully in IEC 529. In North America, the NEMA Code system is often used as an alternative to the IP code. Here is a reference sheet that gives NEMA codes as they relate to IP codes.

The IP code uses two digits to specify environmental protection. The first digit signifies the protection against solid matter (ex: dust) and the second digit specifies the protection against liquid (ex: water). For your reference, here is a reference sheet that explains these ratings in more detail.

What is galvanic corrosion?

Galvanic corrosion is an electrochemical process where one metal corrodes when in electrical contact with a different type of metal. This type of corrosion commonly occurs when the metals are immersed in an electrolyte such as sea water. To prevent galvanic corrosion a non-electrically conductive material is placed between the two dissimilar metals such as plastic or anodized film.

What are the various video formats?

Selecting the right video format for your application is key to a successful design. Questions such as; “Will I have a sharp, pixelated or small image? How much hard drive space will it take or bandwidth will it take to send it?” can only be answered after you have selected the image sizing required for your project. Attached is a link to help with your selection. Be aware some of these are very costly and are better for broadcast media or film makers. Video Formats

What are Incoterms®?

Incoterms® rules are an international standard for determining transportation obligations, costs, and risks. They define the “how” and “when” the transfer of ownership between a seller and a buyer occurs and who is responsible for the cost. For your reference, here is a quick reference sheet offered by the International Chamber of Commerce.


What are pressure depth conversions?

How are wire sizes and electrical contact sizes defined?

AWG References

AWG is an abbreviation for “American Wire Gauge” and is the U.S. standard for wire conductor sizes. AWG is also sometimes referred to as Brown and Sharpe or B & S Wire Gauge. The “gauge” means the diameter.

What is CTI/CDI/CUI?

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Framework (CMMA) Certification
The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Framework (CMMA) is how the government will certify and determine how safe you are to do business with. This CMMA 2.0 Framework certification process will change how government contracting is managed in the Defense Department. It requires organizations are properly accredited and eligible for some defense contracts or subcontractors due to the nature and sensitivity of the project. There are 3 levels of CMMA Certification.


Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

  1. Government UNCLASSIFIED information created or owned by the government that must be safeguarded from unauthorized disclosure.
  2. An all-encompassing term representing many difference categories, each authorized by one or more law, regulation, or Government-wide policy.
  3. Information requiring specific security measures indexed under one system across the Federal Government.


Covered Defense Information (CDI)
Includes four different categories:

  1. Covered Technical Information (CTI)
  2. Operations security
  3. Export controlled information
  4. Any other information marked or otherwise identified in the contract, that requires safeguarding, or dissemination controls pursuant to and consistent with law, regulations, and government-wide policies.

CUI Category: Controlled Technical Information | National Archives
CUI Category: DoD Critical Infrastructure Security Information | National Archives
CUI Category: Naval Nuclear Propulsion Information | National Archives
CUI Category: Unclassified Controlled Nuclear Information – Defense | National Archives

Do you have any questions that we haven’t answered? Please contact us by email at or phone at (619) 275-5533

Lets Get To Work

Four fast ways to get started.


+1 (619) 275-5533
Ready to talk to a Sidus Rep


We'll back in touch within 24 hours

Book a Meeting

Pick your best day and time now

Get A Quote